Gear guide
Best electric pressure canners compared
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Presto 02152: 17 qt extra-tall digital canner for quarts
The listing says the extra-tall size is designed to hold quart jars.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
Presto 02154: 16 qt digital canner with guided prompts
Advanced sensor technology automatically maintains processing temperature, per the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
Presto 02153: 23 qt digital canner, up to 7 quart jars
The listing states room for up to 7 quart jars for pressure and boiling water canning.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Electric pressure canners promise canning without watching a burner. Before buying one, know where official guidance stands. USDA processing times were developed for stovetop canners. The National Center for Home Food Preservation (NCHFP) has said it does not recommend electric multicookers for pressure canning, and it has not published its own processing guidance for purpose-built electric canners. Read NCHFP's current statement and the maker's manual before you decide. This guide makes no safety claims. It compares the purpose-built Presto digital canners and one multicooker with a canning mode on listing facts only: pot size, how many jars the listing says fit, the canning modes and the controls. Where a listing does not state jar capacity, the table says Not stated.
Compare the picks
Presto 02152: 17 qt extra-tall digital canner for quarts- Capacity
- 17 qt
- Jar capacity
- Quart jars (count not stated)
- Modes
- Pressure and boiling water canning
- Controls
- Knob plus LED display, sensor
Presto 02153: 23 qt digital canner, up to 7 quart jars- Capacity
- 23 qt
- Jar capacity
- Up to 7 quarts
- Modes
- Pressure and boiling water canning
- Controls
- Guided prompts, LED display, sensor
Presto 02154: 16 qt digital canner with guided prompts- Capacity
- 16 qt
- Jar capacity
- Not stated
- Modes
- Pressure and boiling water canning
- Controls
- Guided prompts, LED display, sensor
Presto 02144: 12 qt digital canner, ten safety features- Capacity
- 12 qt
- Jar capacity
- Not stated
- Modes
- Pressure and water bath canning
- Controls
- Knob plus LED stage icons, sensor
Carey DPC-9SS: 9.5 qt multicooker with a canning mode- Capacity
- 9.5 qt
- Jar capacity
- Not stated
- Modes
- Pressure can, pressure cook, slow cook, steam, water bath
- Controls
- Digital LED, preset programs
| Pick | Capacity | Jar capacity | Modes | Controls | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Presto 02152: 17 qt extra-tall digital canner for quarts | 17 qt | Quart jars (count not stated) | Pressure and boiling water canning | Knob plus LED display, sensor | - | Amazon |
Presto 02153: 23 qt digital canner, up to 7 quart jars | 23 qt | Up to 7 quarts | Pressure and boiling water canning | Guided prompts, LED display, sensor | - | Amazon |
Presto 02154: 16 qt digital canner with guided prompts | 16 qt | Not stated | Pressure and boiling water canning | Guided prompts, LED display, sensor | - | Amazon |
Presto 02144: 12 qt digital canner, ten safety features | 12 qt | Not stated | Pressure and water bath canning | Knob plus LED stage icons, sensor | - | Amazon |
Carey DPC-9SS: 9.5 qt multicooker with a canning mode | 9.5 qt | Not stated | Pressure can, pressure cook, slow cook, steam, water bath | Digital LED, preset programs | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Presto
Presto 02152: 17 qt extra-tall digital canner for quarts
See price on AmazonAn extra-tall Presto digital canner the listing says is designed to hold quart jars. It runs both pressure and boiling water canning on the counter.
What the listing offers
- The listing says the extra-tall size is designed to hold quart jars.
- A sensor maintains the required temperature, and no altitude adjustment is needed, per the listing.
- Control knob sets method and time while the LED display guides each step.
Limits to know
- The listing does not state how many quart jars fit per load.
- NCHFP has not published processing guidance for electric canners. Check its current position.

Pick 2 · Presto
Presto 02153: 23 qt digital canner, up to 7 quart jars
See price on AmazonPresto's largest digital canner, holding up to 7 quart jars per the listing. The pick for bigger batches without a stovetop.
What the listing offers
- The listing states room for up to 7 quart jars for pressure and boiling water canning.
- Automatic altitude adjustment and step-by-step prompts, per the listing.
- Largest stated jar load of the electric units in this guide.
Limits to know
- Most expensive unit here, and the listing does not state a warranty term.
- NCHFP has not published processing guidance for electric canners. Check its current position.

Pick 3 · Presto
Presto 02154: 16 qt digital canner with guided prompts
See price on AmazonA 16 quart Presto digital canner with guided prompts aimed at beginners. Sensors maintain processing temperature without burner adjustments.
What the listing offers
- Advanced sensor technology automatically maintains processing temperature, per the listing.
- Automatic altitude adjustments and step-by-step prompts on an LED display.
- Compact 16 quart size is pitched as space-saving on the counter.
Limits to know
- The listing does not state how many jars fit per load.
- NCHFP has not published processing guidance for electric canners. Check its current position.

Pick 4 · Presto
Presto 02144: 12 qt digital canner, ten safety features
See price on AmazonThe original Presto digital canner, automating both pressure and water bath canning. The listing lists ten built-in safety features including a cover lock.
What the listing offers
- The listing states ten built-in safety features, including a cover-locking system.
- Sensor holds temperature and no adjustments are needed for high altitude, per the listing.
- LED icons light up each stage from start to finish.
Limits to know
- 12 quart size and no stated jar count. Confirm quart jar fit before buying.
- The listing calls it USDA-approved. Read NCHFP's current statement on electric canners yourself.

Pick 5 · NESCO
Carey DPC-9SS: 9.5 qt multicooker with a canning mode
See price on AmazonA 9.5 quart electric pressure cooker with a pressure canning function, plus cooking modes. Note this is the multicooker type NCHFP specifically advises against for canning.
What the listing offers
- The listing states a dedicated pressure canning function with canning and steam racks included.
- Also pressure cooks, slow cooks and steams, so it doubles as an everyday cooker.
- Automatic safety lock lid and float valve prevent opening under pressure, per the listing.
Limits to know
- NCHFP does not recommend electric multicookers for pressure canning. Read its guidance first.
- The listing does not state how many jars fit in the 9.5 quart nonstick pot.
Read before you buy
- What foods need to be pressure canned?Which foods must be pressure canned: low acid vegetables, meats, beans, soups and stocks above pH 4.6, what a water bath can handle, and what not to can at home.
- Can you pressure can on a glass top stove?Can you pressure can on a glass top stove? Often yes, if your range maker allows it. Check weight limits, burner size, flat canner bottoms and heat cycling first.
- Pressure canner vs pressure cooker: why only canners are safe for canningPressure canner vs pressure cooker: why USDA canning times need a canner that holds 4 quart jars, and how a canner can still cook dinner.
- How much water goes in a pressure canner?How much water to put in a pressure canner: what USDA and canner makers say about depth, water temperature, and why jars are not covered like a water bath.
- Electric vs stovetop pressure cannerElectric vs stovetop pressure canner: convenience, jar capacity, price and testing status, with the NCHFP position on electric canners stated plainly.
More gear: Pressure canning
Freeze & Seal chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.