# Harvest Right vs Blue Alpine freeze dryer

Source: https://freezeandseal.com/blog/harvest-right-vs-blue-alpine
Published: 2026-10-09
Publisher: Freeze & Seal

**Short answer:** Both brands sell home freeze dryers in several sizes, and the right pick comes down to batch size, pump type, warranty and how easy support is to reach. The only listing in our catalog is the Blue Alpine Medium Select, which states 10 to 15 lb of food per batch, US design and build in Idaho, and a listed price of $3,495.00. We have no Harvest Right listing, so its specs are not confirmed here; get both brands' current spec sheets and warranty terms in writing before you buy.

This page is for buyers who have narrowed a home freeze dryer down to Harvest Right or Blue Alpine. Instead of repeating marketing figures we cannot verify, we lay out the five things that actually separate two freeze dryers (capacity, pump, controls, warranty and support), show what the Blue Alpine Medium Select listing confirms, and flag every spec that is not confirmed for either brand so you know exactly what to ask. If you are still deciding whether to freeze dry at all, start with [is a freeze dryer worth it](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/is-a-freeze-dryer-worth-it).

## What the listings confirm

Our product data includes one Blue Alpine listing and no Harvest Right listing. The table shows what is confirmed and what is not. Prices change often, so treat the listed price as a rough tier.

| Spec | Blue Alpine Medium Select | Harvest Right (any size) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Food per batch | 10 to 15 lb | Not confirmed: no listing |
| Where built | Designed and built in Idaho, USA | Not confirmed: no listing |
| Vacuum pump type | Not stated in the listing | Not confirmed: no listing |
| Controls | Not stated in the listing | Not confirmed: no listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in the listing | Not confirmed: no listing |
| Storage claim | 30 year shelf life (maker claim) | Up to 25 years in mylar with an oxygen absorber (maker claim) |
| Listed price at writing | $3,495.00 | Not confirmed: no listing |

Listing facts for Blue Alpine; Harvest Right not listed in our catalog

Note: Shelf life figures from either brand are manufacturer claims, not USDA or NCHFP figures. Storage life depends on how dry the food is, the packaging, oxygen and temperature.

## Capacity: fresh pounds per batch

Both brands sell several sizes, and capacity is the spec that drives price, footprint and power needs. The Blue Alpine Medium Select listing states 10 to 15 lb of food per batch. Compare that against the same size class from Harvest Right using Harvest Right's own current spec sheet, and make sure both figures describe the same thing: fresh weight loaded per batch, not dry weight out.

Pounds per batch are only part of the picture. Tray count and tray area decide how thin you can spread food, and thin layers dry faster and more evenly. Ask each brand for tray dimensions and count for the exact model, then size it to your harvest with our [what size freeze dryer do I need](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/what-size-freeze-dryer-do-i-need) guide and the [Harvest Right size comparison](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/harvest-right-small-vs-medium).

## Vacuum pump, controls and power

**Pump.** The vacuum pump is the part owners maintain most. Oil pumps need oil changes and filtering on a schedule; oil-free pumps avoid that but usually cost more. Neither listing in our data confirms which pump comes with which package, so ask whether the quoted price includes a pump, which type, and what it costs to upgrade. Our [freeze dryer vacuum pump oil](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/freeze-dryer-vacuum-pump-oil) page explains the upkeep.

**Controls.** Look at how much you can change: shelf temperature limits, extra dry time, and whether the software gets updates. Not stated in the Blue Alpine listing, and not confirmed for Harvest Right here.

**Power and placement.** Freeze dryers draw significant power through long cycles and give off heat and noise. Before buying, confirm the plug type and circuit each model needs, the footprint and weight, and the room temperature range the maker allows. A garage that gets hot in summer can slow batches.

## Warranty and support

Home freeze dryers are expensive machines with a compressor, vacuum pump, heaters and electronics, so warranty and service access matter as much as specs. The Blue Alpine listing mentions customer service as a selling point but does not state warranty length or terms. We have no Harvest Right listing to quote.

Before you order, put these questions to both brands and keep the answers in writing:

- How long is the warranty on the unit, and is the pump covered separately?
- Who pays shipping if the unit must go back for repair?
- Are replacement parts such as door gaskets, shelves and sensors sold directly?
- How do you reach support (phone, email, chat) and what hours?
- Is there an owner community or troubleshooting library? See our [Harvest Right troubleshooting](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/harvest-right-troubleshooting) page for common issues.

## Running costs and packaging

The machine is only part of the spend. Freeze dried food must be packed airtight and moisture-proof soon after a batch, usually in mylar bags with oxygen absorbers or in jars. A sealer that handles mylar helps; see [the best vacuum sealers for mylar bags](https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-chamber-vacuum-sealer-for-mylar-bags) and the [oxygen absorber size chart](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/oxygen-absorber-size-chart). Add pump oil if you choose an oil pump, and electricity for long cycles. Our [how much does a freeze dryer cost](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/how-much-does-a-freeze-dryer-cost) page lists each cost so you can total them.

If a freeze dryer is more than you need, a dehydrator handles fruit, herbs and jerky for a fraction of the price; see [freeze dryer vs dehydrator](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/freeze-dryer-vs-dehydrator) and [the best food dehydrators](https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-food-dehydrator).

[Sealers for mylar bags](https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-chamber-vacuum-sealer-for-mylar-bags)

## How to decide

Also weigh other brands you may be shortlisting; see [Harvest Right vs Stay Fresh](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/harvest-right-vs-stay-fresh).

1. Pick your size class first from how much food you process per week.
2. Get each brand's current spec sheet for that size: fresh pounds per batch, tray count and area, footprint, weight and electrical needs.
3. Compare the pump options and the true price with the pump you want included.
4. Get warranty terms and support contacts in writing.
5. Compare final delivered prices, including packaging supplies.

## Frequently asked questions

**Is Blue Alpine made in the USA?** Its listing states it is designed and built in Idaho, USA.

**How much food does the Blue Alpine Medium hold?** The listing states 10 to 15 lb of food per batch.

**Does freeze drying make raw meat safe?** No. Freeze drying does not reliably kill bacteria, so treat raw freeze dried meat like raw meat and cook it fully.

**How long does freeze dried food last?** Long term claims of 25 to 30 years come from manufacturers, not USDA. See [how long freeze dried food lasts](https://freezeandseal.com/blog/how-long-does-freeze-dried-food-last).

## Gear guides for this topic

- https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-chamber-vacuum-sealer-for-mylar-bags
- https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-food-dehydrator
- https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-vacuum-sealer

## Sources

- [National Center for Home Food Preservation](https://nchfp.uga.edu/)
