# Best electric pressure canners compared

Source: https://freezeandseal.com/best/best-electric-pressure-canner
Publisher: Freeze & Seal. Picks are chosen from what each Amazon listing states, not from hands-on tests. Method: https://freezeandseal.com/how-we-pick

Electric pressure canners promise canning without watching a burner. Before buying one, know where official guidance stands. USDA processing times were developed for stovetop canners. The National Center for Home Food Preservation (NCHFP) has said it does not recommend electric multicookers for pressure canning, and it has not published its own processing guidance for purpose-built electric canners. Read NCHFP's current statement and the maker's manual before you decide. This guide makes no safety claims. It compares the purpose-built Presto digital canners and one multicooker with a canning mode on listing facts only: pot size, how many jars the listing says fit, the canning modes and the controls. Where a listing does not state jar capacity, the table says Not stated.

## Picks

### 1. Presto 02152 17-Quart Digital Pressure Canner

Capacity: 17 qt (extra tall); Jars (per listing): Holds quart jars (count not stated); Heat source: Plug-in electric; Pressure control: Sensor holds temperature, no altitude adjustment

An extra-tall Presto digital canner the listing says is designed to hold quart jars. It runs both pressure and boiling water canning on the counter.

What the listing offers:
- The listing says the extra-tall size is designed to hold quart jars.
- A sensor maintains the required temperature, and no altitude adjustment is needed, per the listing.
- Control knob sets method and time while the LED display guides each step.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not state how many quart jars fit per load.
- NCHFP has not published processing guidance for electric canners. Check its current position.

### 2. Presto 02153 23-Quart Digital Pressure Canner

Capacity: 23 qt; Jar capacity: Up to 7 quarts; Pressure control: Sensor holds processing temperature; Heat source: Electric countertop

Presto's largest digital canner, holding up to 7 quart jars per the listing. The pick for bigger batches without a stovetop.

What the listing offers:
- The listing states room for up to 7 quart jars for pressure and boiling water canning.
- Automatic altitude adjustment and step-by-step prompts, per the listing.
- Largest stated jar load of the electric units in this guide.

Limits to know:
- Most expensive unit here, and the listing does not state a warranty term.
- NCHFP has not published processing guidance for electric canners. Check its current position.

### 3. Presto 02154 16-Quart Digital Pressure Canner

Capacity: 16 qt; Jar capacity: Not stated; Pressure control: Sensor holds processing temperature; Heat source: Electric countertop

A 16 quart Presto digital canner with guided prompts aimed at beginners. Sensors maintain processing temperature without burner adjustments.

What the listing offers:
- Advanced sensor technology automatically maintains processing temperature, per the listing.
- Automatic altitude adjustments and step-by-step prompts on an LED display.
- Compact 16 quart size is pitched as space-saving on the counter.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not state how many jars fit per load.
- NCHFP has not published processing guidance for electric canners. Check its current position.

### 4. Presto 02144 12-Quart Digital Pressure Canner

Capacity: 12 qt; Jar capacity: Not stated; Modes: Pressure and water bath canning; Controls: Knob plus LED stage icons, sensor

The original Presto digital canner, automating both pressure and water bath canning. The listing lists ten built-in safety features including a cover lock.

What the listing offers:
- The listing states ten built-in safety features, including a cover-locking system.
- Sensor holds temperature and no adjustments are needed for high altitude, per the listing.
- LED icons light up each stage from start to finish.

Limits to know:
- 12 quart size and no stated jar count. Confirm quart jar fit before buying.
- The listing calls it USDA-approved. Read NCHFP's current statement on electric canners yourself.

### 5. CAREY DPC-9SS Smart Electric Pressure Cooker and Canner, Stainless Steel, 9.5 Qt

Capacity: 9.5 qt; Jar capacity: Not stated; Modes: Pressure can, pressure cook, slow cook, steam, water bath; Controls: Digital LED, preset programs

A 9.5 quart electric pressure cooker with a pressure canning function, plus cooking modes. Note this is the multicooker type NCHFP specifically advises against for canning.

What the listing offers:
- The listing states a dedicated pressure canning function with canning and steam racks included.
- Also pressure cooks, slow cooks and steams, so it doubles as an everyday cooker.
- Automatic safety lock lid and float valve prevent opening under pressure, per the listing.

Limits to know:
- NCHFP does not recommend electric multicookers for pressure canning. Read its guidance first.
- The listing does not state how many jars fit in the 9.5 quart nonstick pot.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.